THE sun finally emerged at the 97th Yarrow Show at Philliphaugh on Saturday.

And the dreich start didn’t stop locals from coming along, with attendance up on last year’s show.

Huge entries for livestock and horse sections as well as plenty home baking, crafts and music from Melrose Pipe Band offered something for everyone.

Secretary Alison Brodie said: “It was a wonderful day, and I’m glad the sun shone eventually. We’ve had more trade stands this year, plus an excellent turnout of dogs, horses and sheep. Treks with the Alpacas proved very popular with the little ones. Thank you to all involved, and to those who came along.”

The Bob Munro Memorial Trophy - Overall Sheep Champion, T Renwick & Son Blackhouse. The Bob Munro Memorial Trophy - Reserve, G Davies North Synton.

South Country Cheviot: The Tait Silver Perpetual Challenge Cup - South Country Cheviot Championship, W N Douglas Catslackburn. John v Lindsay Perpetual Challenge Salver - Opposite Sex to Champion, W N Douglas Catslackburn. The Leslie Usher Perpetual Challenge Cup - Two Ewe Lambs, W N Douglas Catslackburn. The Walter Douglas Perpetual Challenge Cup - Female Group, W N Douglas Catslackburn. The Napier & Ettrick Perpetual Challenge Cup, presented by the Late Master of Napier - Male group, W N Douglas Catslackburn. The John Hume Mitchell Perpetual Challenge Cup - Mixed Group, W N Douglas Catslackburn. North Country Cheviot: Robert Lauder Memorial Quaich - North Country Cheviot Champion, G Davies North Synton. 

Blackfaced Sheep: The Tinnis Perpetual Challenge Cup - Blackfaced Sheep Champion, T Renwick & Son Blackhouse. The Craig Douglas Perpetual Challenge Cup - Opposite Sex to Champion, A McClymont Kirkstead. The Jim Robertson Memorial Trophy - Best Sherling Ram, A McClymont Kirkstead. The James Mitchell Memorial Trophy (Henderland Rose Bowl) - Best Blackfaced Ewe, T Renwick & Son Blackhouse. The Royal Bank of Scotland Perpetual Challenge Cup - Best Two Blackfaced Ewe Lambs, T Renwick & Son Blackhouse. The Glenconner Perpetual Challenge Cup - Female Group, T Renwick & Son Blackhouse. The Donald Challenge Cup - Male Group, A McClymont Kirkstead. The Usher Perpetual Challenge Trophy (The Usher Ram) - Most Points Group Classes, A McClymont Kirkstead. The A J Borthwick Perpetual Challenge Cup - Most Successful Exhibitor in Blackfaced Sheep, T Renwick & Son Blackhouse. 

Bluefaced Leicester: Bluefaced Leicester Trophy - Bluefaced Leicester Champion, A Cowens Philiphaugh Estate. Laidlawstiel Cup- Best Female Sired by Border Leicester, W N Douglas Catslackburn. 

Park Sheep: The Sundhope Cup - Another Breed or X-Breed, A Cowens Philiphaugh. 

Prime Lambs: Angus Oliver Trophy - Best Three Prime Lambs, G Davies North Synton. 

Young Handler: The Sunnycroft Cup - Young Handler, Sam McClymont

Cattle: The Southern Reporter Perpetual Challenge Cup - Best Group Cows and Calves (Calves born year of show), S McClymont and Son Tinnis. The Gideon Pringle Trophy - Best Three Suckled Calves Calves born prior 1st Jan year of show, W M Rutter Greanhead. The Royal Bank Of Scotland Perpetual Challenge Trophy - Best Calf (Born year of show), J F Irving Mountbenger. The Merk Sharpe & Dohme Trophy - Champion Calf at Show, J F Irving Mountbenger.

Field and Garden: The Strang Steel Perpetual Challenge Cup - Vegetables, Patrica Anderson. The J Moody (Perpetual) Dahlia Trophy - Best Three Dahlias, Patrica Anderson. The Midgehope Perpetual Challenge Cup - Flowers, Philiphaugh Gardens. Gorden Arms Hotel Cup - Best Presented Trade Stand, Sherriffs. Thomas Sherriff Trophy - Vintage Tractor, Bob Wardhaugh. 

Walking Sticks: John Fair Shield - Best Cleek, Ian Patterson. The Bruce Glendinning Challenge Cup - Best Stick, Murray Playfair. Elliot Sheriff Trophy - Best Novice Stick in Show, Murray Playfair. Robert Scott Memorial Trophy - Reserve Best Stick in Show, James Currie. 
Preserves, Baking and Industrial: Usher Bowl - Overall (Preserves, Baking and  Industrial) - Sheena Galloway. The Shirra Cup - Preserves, Jane Telfer. Home Baking Challenge Cup - Baking, Sarah Gorrill. Peggy Moody Memorial Trophy - Best Exhibit in Baking Classes, Sarah Gorrill. Margaret Gray Trophy - Industrial, Sandra Ballantyne. The Heatherlie Cup - Best Exhibit in Classes 66-68, Floral Art, Alison Blackadder. Broadmeadows Quaich - Best Exhibit in Juvenile Section, Alilish Fairburn. 

Horse Sections: The Lynn Challenge Cup - Pony Champion, Emma Brown - Holyoake Othello. The Whithope Cup - Over 13.2hh not over 14.2hh Pony, Emma Brown - Penny’s Phantom. The Troubadour Trophy - Over 12.2hh not over 13.2hh Pony, Emma Brown - Holyoake Othello. The Jennifer Dalgetty Challenge Cup - Best Girl Rider in the 13.2 pony class, Emma Brown. The Solar Dew Trophy - Best 12.2 under, Emma Neill - Cayberry Mickey Mouse. Douglas Cup - Best Lead Rein, Michael Neill - Cayberry Mickey Mouse. The Dryden Trophy - For Small Hunter presented by Mrs Jean McAulay, Small Hunter, Hilary Mactaggart - Harley Street. The Thomson Trophy - For Best Hunter presented by Mrs J E Thomson, Best Hunter over 15.2hh, Clive Storey - Masquerade. The McCowan Trophy - For Hunter Championship Ridden presented by Mrs McCowan, Best Ridden Hunter, Clive Storey - Masquerade. The Wathen Trophy - For Best Hunter In Hand presented by David Wathen, In Hand Champion, Michael Lowrie - Harley Quins Limit. Angecroft Rose Bowl - Best Brood Mare with foal at foot, Hannah Robertson - Polly’s Molly. Turnbullbull Trophy - Best Hunter Foal, Graham Robertson - Molly’s Katie. Bank Of Scotland Working Hunter Trophy - Open Working Hunter, Poppi Shepherd - Page One Two Nine. The Yarrow Show Cup - Champion Working Hunter - Emma Brown - Holyoake Othello. Westerkirk Saddlery Trophy for Welsh Sec C or D - In hand Mountain and Moorland, Elma McLaren - Vary Buttons. The Huntfield Trophy - In Hand Champion Mountain and Moorland, Robyn McGee - Walstead Page Boy. Gay Spreach Trophy - Ridden Champion Mountain and Moorland, Robyn McGee - Walstead Page Boy. Coloured Horse - Best Overall Coloured Horse, Clive Storey - Masquerade. The President’s Cup - Overall Horse Champion, Robyn McGee - Walstead Page Boy. McDonald Trophy - Cob Champion, Rachel Brown - Mhor Than Words. Silver Dollar Trophy - Best Jumping Pony 12.2 and under, Sarah Robinson. Galaxy Perpetual Trophy - Highest placed local entry (Confined), Freya Harrison. The Luckenbooth Trophy - Best Jumping Pony 13.2 or under, Niamh Lightly. The MacGown Cup - Best Show Jumping Pony 14.2hh, Becky Forster. The Cranston Trophy - Open Show Jumping, Christine Gray. 8 years and under - Mounted Sports, Christopher Lawson. 9 - 10 years - Mounted Sports, Lexi Marshall. 11 - 12 years - Mounted Sports, Madeline Collins. Best Lead Rein - Mounted Sports, Rowan Stacy Marks.