THE finalists have been announced for this year’s NHS Borders Celebrating Excellence Awards.

On Saturday, April 28, 46 nominees will head to Springwood Park in Kelso to battle it out for 14 accolades.

The ceremony aims to recognise health workers who go the extra mile.

And there was a great response in the public vote, with NHS Borders receiving a total of 148 public nominations.

The board’s chairman John Raine, pictured, said: “The past week has been a great example of how dedicated and committed NHS Borders staff are.

“However they work tirelessly all year round to deliver the best care possible to our patients, and the Celebrating Excellence awards ceremony is one opportunity to recognise this hard work, commitment and dedication from staff and volunteers across the organisation.

“I look forward to welcoming the finalists, members of staff and invited guests to Springwood at the end of April.”

Mr Raine will also present the Chairman’s Award. The nominees in each category are:

  • Values Award: District Nursing Team Leaders; Dr Lynn McCallum – consultant in acute medicine; Anne Simpson – senior charge nurse.
  • Improving Health: Chronic Pain Service; Kelso Medical Practice Nursing Team – Gail Stewart & Dena Walsh; NHS Borders Screening Services Team.
  • Innovation & Improvement: Elaine Boland, sister – Day Hospital; Lisa Clark – senior charge nurse, mental health; Claire Grieve – midwife.
  • Leading by Example: Audrey Bell, senior charge nurse – Ward 4; Dr Hassan Hashmi – consultant ophthalmologist; Dr Lynn McCallum – consultant in acute medicine.
  • Primary Care Provider: Coldstream Medical Practice; Dr Cath Cormie GP – Stow & Lauder Health Centre; Dr Vikas Das Mahesh, GP and District Nurses – Waverley Medical Practice, Galashiels.
  • Rising Star: Joanne Forrest – project support manager, unscheduled care; Laura Maltman – IM&T Project Support; Sarah Manson – IM&T project officer.
  • Clinical Excellence: Elaine Boland, sister – Day Hospital; Colm McCarthy – consultant, emergency medicine; Alison Todd – senior charge nurse, day procedure unit and pre assessment.
  • Partnership Working: District Nursing Team; P&CS and BGH On Call Management Team; Waverley Medical Practice.
  • Supporter of the Year: Breastfeeding in the Borders Team; Ward Volunteers; Iain Weir – volunteer.
  • Behind the Scenes (Clinical): Night Sisters; Child Protection Team; Alison Todd – senior charge nurse, DPU and pre assessment.
  • Behind the Scenes (Non Clinical): IT Services (Cyber Response & Beyond); P&CS and BGH On Call Management Team; June Peters.
  • Person Centred Care: Ann Lynch – midwife sonographer; Jamie Murray – paediatric physiotherapy technical instructor; Midwifery team – Susie McFadzen, Karen Smail, Vicky Aitchison.
  • Platinum Award: Janette Baker, Senior Charge Nurse – night duty; Irene Bonnar, head of work & wellbeing; Jackie Brand, charge nurse – emergency department; Shirley Burrell, partnership chair; Pamela Gordon, lead clinician – AHP Podiatry; Jane Montgomery, director of medical education & consultant anaesthetist; Lorna Paterson, resilience manager; Anne Simpson, senior charge nurse – Ward 16; Jackie Scott, blood sciences manager; John Thomson, porter.