MEMBERS of Selkirk's Silver Band had a very good reason to blow their own trumpet following their weekend performance.

The group finished second in their section at the Scottish Brass Band Championships in Perth.

As well as lifting the James Taylor Memorial Trophy and a cash prize of £100, the Selkirk band qualified for the finals of the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain, which will be held in Cheltenham on September 16.

In addition, Selkirk Silver Band automatically clinch promotion to the Second Section of the Scottish Brass Band Association.

The band’s bravura performance was a team effort, including the efforts by soloists Issie French (principal cornet), Stuart Kemp (soprano cornet), Les Mallin (tenor horn), Colin Kemp (flugel horn) and Brian Hermiston (euphonium).

And the band was aided by their youngest member, 12-year-old percussionist William Scott.

The youngster, who attends Clovenfords Primary School, only joined the group three months ago. William's mum Emma also plays tenor horn in the band.

The band's conductor Stuart Black was very happy with the result.

He said: “I could not be more proud of the band and the way they played. Every member of the band stepped up to the mark, and I couldn’t have asked for more. To see everyone so happy is extremely satisfying.”

Bandmaster Colin Kemp added: “I felt we played very well. The balance was good, as was the overall sound, so in other words a good band hall performance on the day.

“It says a lot for the band to reach the National Finals for the second time in three years, and everyone has worked incredibly hard to get us to this point.

“Our focus now will be to try and improve on the 10th place we managed to achieve at the 2016 National Finals, while band members will also be working hard to raise enough funds to enable us to make the trip to Cheltenham.”

The final Section Three placings at Perth were; – 1, Newmans & District; 2, Selkirk Silver; 3, Perthshire Brass; 4, Langholm Town; 5, Brass Sound Inverclyde; 6, Dysart Colliery; 7, Buckhaven, Methil Miners; 8, Dunfermline Town; 9, MacTaggart Scott Loanhead; 10, Peebles Burgh.