A NUMBER of Borders villages have had 20mph limits introduced as Scottish Borders Council (SBC) rolls out its new safety project.

Stow, Coldingham, Newcastleton, Eddleston and Sprouston have all seen 20mph limits implemented, signalling the start of an 18-month trial covering 91 Borders locations.

The scheme, called Spaces for People, is a Scottish Government-funded programme and is managed by Sustrans Scotland.

The aim of the scheme, which has secured £1.2million of funding, is to make it easier for people to safely walk and cycle during everyday journeys as the country comes out of lockdown.

The programme began on Monday (October 5), with 20mph limits to be introduced by the end of the year in settlements including Melrose, Galashiels, Tweedbank, Peebles, Selkirk, Lauder and Hawick.

As well as the 20mph limits, the scheme also includes new 40mph areas, road closures and one-way systems.

While the scheme’s main aim is to make walking and cycling safer, the council also hopes it will have a positive impact on CO2 emissions, driver safety and the attractiveness of the Borders generally.

Border Telegraph:

Photo: Families campaigning for 20mph limits in Stow in August 2020. Credit: Helen Barrington

Working with a Scottish university, the initial 12 months of the programme will be used by the council to assess the parts of the scheme to retain or remove.

The remaining six months will then see any permanent changes implemented. The council has promised to listen to public feedback throughout the trials.

Aside from staffing costs, SBC has no financial commitments towards the programme.

Councillors were asked to rubber-stamp the plans to slash speed limits at a meeting in August.

See below for a full list of places affected by the limits.

20mph zones

Eildon: Stow; Heriot; Fountainhall; Clovenfords; Newtown St Boswells; Melrose; Bowden; Midlem; Lilliesleaf; Gattonside; Darnick; Newstead; Tweedbank; Galashiels; Oxton; Lauder; Ettrickbridge; Yarrowford; Ashkirk; Selkirk; Redpath; Earlston.

Berwickshire: Coldingham; St Abbs; Reston; Cockburnspath; Cove; Grantshouse; Ayton; Eyemouth; Burnmouth; Chirnside; Auchencrow; Foulden; Paxton; Whitsome; Allanton; Duns; Preston; Longformacus; Gavinton; Greenlaw; Hume; Gordon; Westruther; Swinton; Coldstream; Leitholm; Eccles; Birgham; Lennel

Teviot and Liddesdale: Newcastleton; Chesters; Bonchester Bridge; Denholm; Minto; Hawick

Tweeddale: Eddleston; Blyth Bridge; Rommanobridge; Skirling; Broughton; Cardrona; Innerleithen; Walkerburn; Peebles; Kirkhouse; Traquair; Carlops; West Linton

Cheviot: Sprouston; Ednam; Kelso; Stichill; Smailholm; Bemersyde; Clintmains; Yetholm; Morebattle; Heiton; Eckford; Roxburgh; Maxton; Nisbet; Ancrum; Lempitlaw; Ulston; Jedburgh; St Boswells; Lempitlaw; Lanton; Oxnam

40mph zones

C76 Lauder to Earlston; Innerleithen to Peel; B7062 Peebles to Traquair; C11 Heriot to Clovenfords

Closure/One ways

B710 Caddonfoot to Clovenfords (closure) - already introduced