TWO Borders rugby stars have been included in Warren Gatland’s 37-man British and Irish Lions squad to face South Africa.

Scotland captain Stuart Hogg made the cut, while there was also a first call-up for Rory Sutherland at loosehead prop.

Sutherland spoke of his delight at being included, after he dislocated his shoulder against France during the Six Nations.

He told The Times: "I was asked to watch it [the announcement] with the team but didn't want to, I wanted to watch it on my own. I watched it on my phone in the car."

A groin muscle injury in 2016 left the 27-year-old bedridden and wondering if he would be able to continue playing the sport.

He added: "Going through that time I wondered if I'd ever play rugby again.

"To be in this position now, I'm just over the moon. I can't wait to get stuck in."

Sutherland will be the 13th player from Hawick to join a tour.

And he is looking forward to representing his town alongside Stuart Hogg.

He told The Times: "Hoggy has been on tours already and I'm really looking forward to sharing that experience with him.

"It's a huge jersey to fill and there's a massive history behind it in Hawick.

"To be able to be part of that is special."

Hogg was in contention to captain the squad but that responsibility has been placed on the experienced shoulders of Wales skipper Alun Wyn Jones.

The Scots included in the squad are Hogg, Sutherland, Zander Ferguson, Hamish Watson, Ali Price, Finn Russell, Chris Harris and Duhan van der Merwe.

Gatland announced the full squad to play in the series against South Africa this summer at 12.30pm on Thursday (May 6). Players can join the squad later in the event of injuries or suspensions.

THE LIONS 2021 SQUAD: Mako Vunipola, Wyn Jones, Rory Sutherland, Ken Owens, Jamie George, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tadhg Furlong, Andrew Porter, Zander Fagerson, Alun Wyn Jones, Maro Itoje, Iain Henderson, Tadhg Beirne, Jonny Hill, Courtney Lawes, Tom Curry, Justin Tipuric, Hamish Watson, Taulupe Faletau, Sam Simmonds, Jack Conan, Conor Murray, Ali Price, Gareth Davies, Dan Biggar, Owen Farrell, Finn Russell, Robbie Henshaw, Chris Harris, Bundee Aki, Stuart Hogg, Liam Williams, Anthony Watson, Louis Rees-Zammit, Duhan van der Merwe, Elliot Daly, Josh Adams