A NUMBER of historic Borders sites have been affected by closures after Historic Environment Scotland (HES) identified a potential “safety risk”.

The public body made the announcement on Monday (June 7), confirming that a list of sites across Scotland would close or partially close due to the concerns.

According to an HES spokesperson, “unstable masonry at high level” was identified as a risk to visitors and staff.

READ MORE: Coronavirus: Borders school closes after 'small number' of positive tests

In the Borders, Melrose Abbey, Kelso Abbey, Jedburgh Abbey and Dryburgh Abbey have all been affected by the closures.

An HES spokesperson said: “Planned inspections recently carried out at some of our properties identified a potential safety risk to visitors and staff from unstable masonry at high level.

“We have therefore taken the decision to close or partially close some sites as a precautionary measure until inspections can take place.

“Where we are able to safely maintain access to sites we will do so with reduced ticket prices to visitors while inspection work on site takes place.

“However, some areas of these sites will be closed to visitors.”

READ MORE: Couple who founded award-winning Borders pub take over 'beautiful' bar on wheels

Meanwhile, Tantallon Castle in North Berwick and Dirleton Castle, two miles west of North Berwick, are among the other affected sites.

According to the spokesperson, any visitors with pre-booked tickets to these sites have been contacted.

“We know how keen visitors and members are to access sites however the safety of our visitors and staff is our first concern and we are prioritising a programme of further inspection works at these sites,” they added.

Here’s a full list of the sites affected, according to Historic Environment Scotland

  • Abroath Abbey and Abbots House
  • Bothwell Castle
  • Caerlaverock Castle
  • Craigmillar Castle
  • Crichton Castle
  • Dirleton Castle
  • Doune Castle
  • Dryburgh Abbey
  • Dundonald Castle
  • Dunkeld Cathedral
  • Jedburgh Abbey
  • Kelso Abbey
  • Linlithgow Palace
  • MacLellan’s Castle
  • Maybole Collegiate Church
  • Melrose Abbey
  • Rothesay Castle
  • St Andrews Cathedral
  • Tantallon Castle