BORDERS rugby legend Roy Laidlaw is to feature in a new set of stamps issued by the Royal Mail.

The eight stamps in the set mark the 150th anniversary of the first international rugby match, staged between Scotland and England at Raeburn Place in Edinburgh in 1871.

Scrum-half Laidlaw, whose two first-half tries against Ireland at Lansdowne Road in Dublin, in 1984, were instrumental in Scotland winning their first Triple Crown since 1938, will feature.

The former Jed-Forest star, who was capped 47-times for his country, recounted: “I remember Ireland won the toss and decided to play against the wind in the first-half. I scored early off a lineout, then we got a penalty try at a scrum and then I got over in the corner off a scrum.

“I think I’d scored in the same corner a few years before playing for Scotland B.”

Due to injury, Laidlaw didn’t return for the second-half. “But we played some great rugby then. Keith Robertson scored a try and Peter Dods scored in the corner from a typically unselfish pass from Roger Baird.”

Laidlaw, who had captained Scotland and also toured New Zealand with the British & Irish Lions in 1983, was in hospital as the celebrations at Scotland’s 32-9 win continued into the night.

He recovered to take his place against France at home a fortnight later when Scotland won their first Grand Slam in 59 years.

He added: “That was just such an achievement. I mean, it was our first since 1925. But while some of the boys were still partying, I was back at work the following Monday rewiring the public toilets in Jedburgh.

“I owed so much to my granny, Peggy Walker. She had introduced me to rugby when I was a kid. She saw the 1925 Grand Slam in person; the 1984 Grand Slam in person and she watched the 1990 Grand Slam on the telly. She lived to the grand old age of 96.

“So, being on the stamp? Well, I’ll just say thanks to my granny Peggy, because it all wouldn’t have happened without her enthusiasm. She was rugby daft.”

The full set of stamps features: JPR Williams; Emily Scarratt; Danielle Waterman; Sophie Spence; Roy Laidlaw; Kim Littlejohn; Simon Geoghegan; Melissa Berry; and Jonny Wilkinson.

They will go on sale from October 19.