The Borders and East Lothian U18s containing players from Melrose, Hawick, Galashiels, Selkirk, Earlston, Jedburgh, Duns and Peebles enjoyed a comprehensive victory over Caledonia at the Greenyards last weekend.

Caledonia opened the scoring within the first ten-minutes of the game through a successful penalty kick at goal, by stand-off Aminio Bogidrau.

As the typical Scottish rain continued to fall it didn’t stop the Borders & East Lothian stand-off, Luke Townsend, converting Finn Douglas’s comeback try just moments later.

The Borders & East Lothian team pulled ahead with prop Ross Brown scoring their second try, which once again was followed by a successful conversion from Townsend.

Caledonia made continuous efforts to gain possession and move the ball towards their opponents try-line, but the Borders & East Lothian's defence as too strong.

As the half time approached, another try was secured from the Borders & East Lothian Team, this time by right-wing, Finlay Douglas.

Half-time Borders & East Lothian 19 Caledonian 3

As the weather made a turnaround, so did the Caledonia team. Tighthead prop Bartek Brylak crossed the whitewash to score their first try of the game.

A break up-filed by Caledonia’s lock, Johnny Morrie, allowed a try and conversion to be scored by stand-off Bogidrau just moments later.

Kerr Johnstone then ran on outstanding line between the Caledonia defence to place the ball down between the posts for the Borders and East Lothian side, with a conversion from Luke Townsend adding more points to their tally.

As the final whistle approached, Finn Douglas dived over the line to score his second try of the afternoon to secure the win.

Despite Caledonia’s continuous efforts, it was the Borders & East Lothian team that came out on top to take the victory.

Borders & East Lothian U18: 15. Finn Douglas (Melrose Rugby), 14. Finlay Douglas (Hawick HS/ Youth), 13. Justin Tait (Hawick Youth) 12. Kerr Johnstone (Gala Rugby), 11. Finlay Wheelans (Selkirk RFC), 10. Luke Townsend (Earlston High School/Melrose Rugby), 9. Hector Paterson (Jed Thistle); 1Ross Brown (Loretto School), 2. Marcus Brogan (Hawick Youth), 3. Robbie Robinson (Earlston HS/ RFC), 4. Ben Weir (Melrose Rugby), 5. Hamish Reynolds (Berwickshire HS/ Duns RFC), 6. Scott Brown (Preston Lodge RFC), 7. Munroe Job (Selkirk High School/Selkirk RFC), 8. Douglas Weir (Gala Academy/ RFC)

Replacements: 16. Ally Renton (Earlston High School/Melrose RFC), 17. Andrew Kirk (Earlston HS/ Melrose HS), 18. Ashton Asante (Kelso Quins), 19. Hughie Donaldson (Langholm Academy/ Hawick Youth) 20. Luke Henderson (Ross High School/ RFC), 21. Angus Williams (Dunbar Grammar School/Preston Lodge RFC), 22. Frey Maciver (Peebles High School/Peebles RFC), 23. Patrick Cannon (Peebles HS / RFC).

Head Coach: Robert Grigg Assistant Coaches: Jason Riley and Craig Dods