THE TWEED Valley and Wauchope Forests echoed to the sound of rally cars for the first time since 2019 on Saturday May 14 as the Brick and Steel Border Counties Rally blasted back into life with Elliot Payne and Patrick Walsh taking victory in their Ford Fiesta Rally2.

Forced to cancel in 2020 and 2021 due to the pandemic, the revived event was organised by Hawick and Border Car Club with new co-promoters Berwick and District Motor Club.

Payne was third after the opening stage of the event but recovered to seal the top spot by 14 seconds from David Henderson and Chris Lees in their Fiesta R5.

“That feels really good,” said Payne at the finish. “We just came here to get points for the championship really, but it has played out well. We managed to keep our noses clean all day and we took a steady approach; no risks and no pressure from our side. There were no real moments, the car is in one piece, which is good as it’s my Dad’s car so huge thanks to him for letting me use it. I`m happy with that!”

Border Telegraph: Action for Brick and Steel Borders Counties Rally 2022Action for Brick and Steel Borders Counties Rally 2022

The winners of the various competitions were as follows.

British and Steel Trophy and Replica – Royal British Legion Shield and Replica – Elliot Payne/Patrick Welsh in Ford Fiesta Rally 2 intime on 37.22.

The Starrett Trophy and Replica – Jethart Cup and Replica David Henderson / Chris Lees in Ford Fiesta R5 in time of 37.36

Kielder Trophy and Replica – Border Reiver Trophy and Replica – Stephen Petch / Michael Wilkinson in Ford Fiesta in time of 37.39

Border Driver – Bill Butler Memorial Trophy and Award – Ian Baumgart in Subaru Impreza in time of 40.34.

Border Co-Driver – Richard Paterson Memorial Trophy and Award – Claire Mole in Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IV in time of 37.43.

Hawick and Border CC Crew – DS Dalgleish Trophy and Driver & Co-Driver Awards – John McClory / David MC Hood in Mitsubishi Evo 9 in time of 40.55

BTRDA Crew Brick and Steele National Cup Award – Elliot Payne / Patrick Walsh in Ford Fiesta Rally 2 in time of 37.22

Berwick and District Motor Club Driver Tweedmouth Service Station Trophy and Award – Michael Binnie in Mitsubishi Evo IV intime of 37.43

Berwick and District Motor Club Co-Driver Tweedmouth Service Station Cup and Award – Claire Mole in Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IV in time of 37.43.

Roy Herron Memorial Award for Best Presented car at Scrutineering (in opinion of Roy’s fellow scrutineers) – Dale Glover / Sean ward in Alpha Romeo Alfasud TI.

Dr Bob Pawson Award for Highest Placed Driver Under 21 on date of event – Elliot Payne in Ford Fiesta Rally 2 in time of 37.22.

Dan MacLennan Rose Bowl awarded to crew or individual who represents the spirit of the event – Service crew of car 12 whose car dropped a diff after scrutineering. They went to Preston for new parts and repaired the car overnight.