A RECORD 283 runners took part in Sunday’s ‘Feel The Burns’ hill run at Selkirk.

Senior men’s winner Andrew Douglas, of the Westerlands Cross-Country Club, completed the 12.7-mile course in a time of one hour, 25 minutes and 45 seconds.

“It’s always a pleasure taking part in this event,” said the 37-year-old, who the previous day had competed in the Scottish Inter-District Cross-Country Championships at Renfrew.

“Conditions up on the hill were just about perfect. It’s a big help the course is well signposted, and that all the marshals give the runners so much encouragement. It’s been a really fun event.”

The first woman home was last year’s winner, Catriona MacDonald, of Shettleston Road Runners, in a time of one hour, 48 minutes and 58 seconds – a minute inside her 2023 time.

“I enjoyed coming back to Selkirk,” said the geotechnical engineer from Morpeth, “and the organisation of the race was again first class. Having such fine weather was an added bonus.”

Race organiser Sheila Cochrane was delighted with the way things had gone.

“We’ve again been very lucky with the weather,” she said.

“I’m indebted to the local land owners for their generous support, and for the assistance of all the volunteers and local businesses.

“Funds raised today will go to the Tweed Valley Mountain Rescue Team, who provide emergency cover at this event, and at our Philiphaugh Hill Run in August. They’re a vital cog in the machine.”


Senior men – 1, Andrew Douglas (Westerlands CCC) 1.25.45; 2, Csoban Balogh (Carnethy HRC) 1.28.01; 3, Joe Symonds (Shettleston Harriers) 1.31.45.

Senior women – 1, Catriona MacDonald (Bellahouston RR) 1.48.58; 2, Katie Hall (Ochils Hill Runners) 1.51.33; 3, Chloe Malcolm (Carnethy HRC) 1.54.15.

V40 – Joe Symonds (Shettleston Harriers) 1.31.45; Claire Gordon (Hunter Bog Trotters) 1.54.43.

V50 – Andrew McRae (Carnethy HRC) 1.41.01; Anya Campbell (Gala Harriers) 2.02.00.

V60 – Mikey Anderson (Westerlands CCC) 1.57.59; Anne Craig (Carnethy HRC) 2.33.07.

V70 – Brian Howie ( Carnethy HRC) 2.24.50.

First local runner (TD7) – Iain Stewart (Gala Harriers ) 1.44.59.

Team prize – men, Carnethy HRC; women, Carnethy HRC.