NEW-LOOK Melrose started the 2015-16 season with a win in the oldest established rugby union league in the world.

The Premiership side, who haven’t won the competition since season 2010-11, defeated the National League One club 46-10 in the Booker Border League at the Greenyards this evening (Friday).

Summer acquisitions Sam Pecqueur (Edinburgh Accies), Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County), and Ally Miller (Watsonians) started for the home side, alongside new Edinburgh signing Jason Baggott from South Africa - with both Pecqueur and Miller scoring on their debuts.

Sam Chalmers, the first rugby player in Scotland to have tested positive for a banned substance, made his first competitive appearance for Melrose from the bench following his two year ban.

Also featuring from the bench were Bruce Dick, a Scottish Rugby Elite Development player attached to Glasgow Warriors, who made his comeback after two seasons out with injury; and Alistair Grieve, who joins from Kelso.

Melrose led 24-3 at half-time with tries from captain Nick Beavon, Miller, Andrew Nagle and Cameron Mackay, with Baggott converting two of them. Donald Grieve pulled a penalty back for Jed.

And the second half started as the first half finished with another Melrose score. Ruairdh Knott touched down within 90 seconds of the restart. Further tries followed from Grant Runciman, Pecqueur, and David Colvine, with Baggott adding the extras from the boot.

Jamie Hynd pulled a try back for Jed which was converted by Donald Grieve. But the visitors, who included the Young twins, Gregor and Lewis, can be confident a similar performance in the National League will produce a more favourable result.

Melrose: Fraser Thomson, Joe Helps, Tom Galbraith, Andrew Nagle, Sam Pecqueur, Jason Baggott, Struan Hutchison; Jamie Bhatti, Cameron Mackay, Nick Beavon (capt), James Head, Graeme Dodds, Neil Irvine-Hess, Ruairdh Knott, Ally Miller. Replacements: Richard Ferguson, Ruari McLeod, Alistair Grieve, Grant Runciman, Richard Mill, Bruce Dick, Sam Chalmers, David Colvine.

Jed-Forest: Lewis Young, Chris Gillon, Gregor Young, Fraser Harkness, Rory Marshall, Luke Riddell, Tony Wichary; Jack Sudlow, Donald Greive (Capt), Graham Robson, Gregor Law, Clark Skeldon, Cole Lothian, Scott Raeburn, Oliver Ryan. Replacements: C Cowan, J Hynd, J Barrie, R Douglas, E Stewart, C McNeil.