GALASHIELS youngster Ewan Christie run himself onto the podium on Saturday at the Lindsey's Cross Country Championships in Falkirk.

And there was also a medal for Lauder's Gavin Bryson, whose fifth place in the Under 20s helped Edinburgh AC finish third in the team race.

Christie put in a fantastic performance in what has been a successful season for the young runner.

In what turned out to be a sprint for the line Ewan narrowly missed out on silver by hundredths of a second, and was only one second behind the gold medal winner, Team East Lothian’s Angus Wright.

Ewan ran the 3.1 km course at Callendar Park in a time of 11.36.

He was among a large contingent of runners from Gala Harriers who competed in the event at the weekend.

In the U15 boys race, Gregor Collins crossed the line in 21st place, with team mates Blake Hedley, Ewan Purves and Evan McConnell finishing further down the field to secure the boys team 11th place overall.

The Harriers under 17 boys team finished in 10th position overall with Yousuf Khursheed crossing the line in 30th place, closely followed by team mate Lewis Tharme. James Logan and Corri Campbell were next home for the team.

Teviotdale's Fraser Clyne was first Borderer home in 26th.

Susannah Godfrey-Fausset was the first Harrier home in the U17 women's race, placed 22nd, and was followed by team mate Eilidh Forbes.

In the U20 men's race, Faisal Khursheed had a strong run to finish in 10th position, followed by team mates Callum Tharme and Robert Fox who finished in 18th and 59th place respectively.

Katie Rourke also impressed in the U20 women's race, finishing in 9th place, with Zoe Pflug close behind in 11th.

The senior women's team finished in 11th place with Kirstin Maxwell first Harrier home in 27th position, followed by Sara Green (29th), and Rachel Fagan and Dawn Grant finishing further down the field.

The senior men secured 12th position overall with Darrell Hastie first Harrier to cross the line (38th), followed by club president Graeme Murdoch who celebrated his birthday by running his first race as a veteran and finishing in 55th position overall. Marcus D’Agrosa, Dave Richardson, Andrew Lawrie and Gary Trewartha completed the team.