GALA moved back to the top of Division One with a tense and hard fought win over Watsonians 2nds.

The visitors recovered from 72 for 5 to end up 131 for 8 from their 45 overs on a difficult Myreside wicket.

After reducing the hosts to 32 for 5, Watsonians fought back and in the end got to within 14 runs of Gala’s total before Scott Evans claimed the final wicket.

Watsonians’ decision to field first appeared a poor one after an excellent opening partnership between Finlay Rutherford (32) and Duncan Millar (20).

But Gala lost Millar and then Graeme Ormiston was bowled first ball. Jamie Crooks, Ross Patterson and Rutherford all departed to leave Gala facing a total under 100.

But Nick MacIntyre (19 not out), Max Hastings (13) and Rory Hancock (11) showed plenty battling qualities to edge the Braw Lads up to a defendable total.

And when McIntyre roared in to claim four wickets for 20, with Dean Moir producing his best spell of the season at the other end to concede just nine runs from his seven overs, Gala looked set for a comfortable win.

But it is never straightforward with the Meigle Park side, and Watsonians fought back through an excellent 50 from exciting youngster Carr, who had earlier taken three wickets for 12.

Finally, Carr was dismissed by Harris Rutherford with the score on 99 for 8, and when Rory Hancock claimed the ninth, it looked game over.

Once again Watsonians came back with number 10 batsmen Abbey making 16 to take the capital side to 117.

But finally Gala secured the win as Evans bowled MacLean in the 41st over.


F. Rutherford b A. Abbey 32

D. Millar ct K. Rae b G. Carr 20

G. Ormiston b G. Carr 0

J. Crooks run out 4

S. Evans b G. Carr 6

R. Patterson ct K. Rae b C. Martin 1

R. Hancock b C. Martin 11

M. Hastings ct D. Bryen b M. MacLean 13

N. McIntyre not out 19

H. Rutherford not out 2

Extras – 23

Total – 131 for eight wickets

C. Martin 9-2-28-2; O. Robertson 9-0-30-0; C. Willsdon 5-1-10-0; G. Carr 9-4-12-3; A. Abbey 7-0-16-1; D. Bryen 3-1-10-0; M. MacLean 3-0-14-1.

Watsonians 2nds

E. Antunes ct H. Rutherford b J. Crooks 7

C. Willsdon ct R. Patterson b N. McIntyre 1

K. Rae ct G. Ormiston b N. McIntyre 7

O. Robertson ct J. Crooks b D. Moir 13

J. Osborne b N. McIntyre 3

C. Martin b N. McIntyre 0

G. Carr ct & b H. Rutherford 52

Z. Talbot b R. Hancock 1

D. Bryen b R. Hancock 4

A. Abbey not out 16

M. MacLean b S. Evans 0

Extras – 13

Total – 117 for ten wickets

D. Moir 7-3-9-1; N. McIntyre 9-3-20-4; S. Evans 8.5-0-27-1; J. Crooks 7-0-33-1; R. Hancock 5-2-10-2; H. Rutherford 4-0-14-1.