FOUR-WICKET Dean Moir helped Gala to secure a 40 run Braw Lads’ Day win over Marchmont.

Moir bowled with pace to right apart the visitors’ top order as they succumbed to 119 in reply to Gala’s 159.

The home side had looked on course for a score close to 200 when openers Sid Siddhu (31) and Duncan Millar (29) took the game to Marchmont.

But the Edinburgh side pulled themselves back into the game, restricting Gala’s scoring albeit Dinesh Tharanga (40) and Graeme Ormiston (19) put on 45 for the fourth wicket.

But once both fell, Gala slipped from 140 for five to 159 all out.

Dhiraj Prakesh (3 for 22) was the top wicket taker for Marchmont.

Gala got off to the perfect start as Moir took a wicket with the third ball of the game.

Moir continue to take wickets, reducing Marchmont to 41 for 5.

But Ray Fourie (32) and Praful Pant (20) added 51 to give Marchmont a chance of victory until Jamie Crooks’ introduction claimed Pant and captain Tharanga capped a great spell of bowling with the wicket of Fourie.

Marchmont’s innings finished soon after, with Moir (4 for 30), Tharanga (2 for 20) and Crooks (2 for 15) the pick of the bowlers.


S. Siddhu ct P. Bruell b R. Fourie 31

F. Rutherford ct P. Bruell b G. Bevan 7

D. Millar ct P. Pant b T. Parnell 29

D. Tharanga ct P. Bruell b D. Prakesh 40

G. Ormiston ct & b S. Panchal 19

J. Crooks ct T. Parnell b S. Panchal 0

R. Irvine run out 3

S. Evans ct & b D. Prakesh 4

N. McIntyre ct A. Mohapatra b D. Prakesh 1

D. Moir not out 1

R. Hancock run out 8

Extras – 16

Total – 159 for ten wickets

V. Jalagandasweran 6-0-27-0; G. Bevan 4-0-20-1; R. Fourie 9-2-26-1; D. Sandersai 4-0-18-0; T. Parnell 5-0-13-1; D. Prakesh 9-0-22-3; S. Panchal 7-0-27-2.


V. Jalagandasweran ct J. Crooks b D. Moir 0

S. Panchal lbw D. Moir 4

P. Bruell b D. Tharanga 12

T. Parnell ct D. Millar b D. Moir 4

A. Mohapatra b D. Moir 16

R. Fourie ct J. Crooks b D. Tharanga 32

P. Pant ct G. Ormiston b J. Crooks 20

G. Bevan b J. Crooks 13

D. Prakesh ct R. Irvine b G. Ormiston 1

D. Sardesai ct D. Millar b S. Evans 6

S. Joy not out 4

Extras – 7

Total – 119 for ten wickets

D. Moir 9-1-30-4; S. Evans 5.3-1-11-1 D. Tharanga 9-4-20-2; N. McIntyre 4-0-30-0; J. Crooks 5-0-15-2; G. Ormiston 3-0-11-1.