GALA claimed their first win over Kelso for four years with a late night 45 run win the Border 2020 League at Meigle Park.

With both sides missing a number of first team regulars, Gala post 131 for 5 from their 20 overs, with Kelso only able to post 86 in a match which finished at 9.30pm due to a rain delay.

Gala looked to be in deep trouble when they lost Sid Siddhu, Jamie Crooks and Duncan Millar all fell to the bowling of Murray Mason to leave the home side 23 for 3.

But Dinesh Tharanga (54) and Finlay Rutherford (17) put on 81 for the fourth wicket, as Gala ended up 131 for 5.

Kelso got off to a rapid start with South African professional Joel Veeran hitting 12 off the first over.

But gradually Gala pegged back Kelso, who were 51 for 3 at the halfway stage.

Kelso always had a chance with Veeran (61) still at the crease, but when he was well judged catch by Crooks off the bowling of Simon Fairburn, it was game over.

Fairburn (2 for 16) and Tharanga (2 for 13) were the pick of the bowlers, alongside young Liam Skeldon who claimed his first wicket for Gala first XI.


S. Siddhu ct J. Veeran b M. Mason 1

D. Millar ct & b M. Mason 17

J. Crooks ct J. Veeran b M. Mason 0

D. Tharanga ct & b W. Stephens 54

F. Rutherford lbw C. Davidson 17

K. Paterson not out 11

Extras – 32

Total – 131 for five wickets

M. Mason 4-0-25-3; C. Davidson 4-0-21-1; J. Frame 4-0-29-0; J. Veeran 40-16-0; W. Stephens 4-0-35-1.


J. Veeran ct J. Crooks b S. Fairburn 61

N. Mallen run out (S. Siddhu) 4

C. Davidson ct S. Siddhu b F. Rutherford 3

T. Chilcott lbw D. Tharanga 3

W. Stephens ct & b J Crooks 2

J. Frame lbw D. Tharanga 0

M. Mason not out 2

B. Rock ct & b S. Fairburn 0

J. Wheelans run out (F. Rutherford 0)

K. Jackson b L Skeldon 0

Extras – 11

Total – 86 for nine wickets

S. Siddhu 4-0-22-0; F. Rutherford 4-0-17-1; J. Crooks 4-0-15-1; D. Tharanga 4-1-13-2; S Fairburn 3-0-16-2; L. Skeldon 1-0-1-1.