SPRINTER Stacey Downie celebrated the new decade with her highest ever finish at the world's oldest footrace.

The 32-year-old teacher from West Linton, who is being coached by Eddie Mckenna with help from Charlie Russell, finished third in the final of the New Year Sprint behind former 400 metre champion Ian Horsburgh.

And she celebrated by heading off to the sun in South Africa for a training camp ahead of the indoor championships.

Stacey, who had been recovering from a chest infection, said: "I'm delighted as that is my best ever finish at the New Year Sprint.

"I wasn't sure about running because I just finished my antibiotics on New Year's Day, but I seemed to be okay and ran well.

"I'll spent he next two-and-a-half weeks at the training camp in South Africa and prepare for the Scottish and British indoor championships."

In a thrilling final at Musselburgh Racecourse Horsburgh, running from 10.25 metres, pegged back Stacey with around 15 of the 110 metres to go.

And the 42-year-old, who is originally from Ayton in Berwickshire, held off the challenge from Lasswade teenager Murray Blair to take the £5,000 top prize in a time of 11.81 seconds.

Kelso's Doug Young, who had been among the pre-race favourites, showed improvement from his Monday heat run to win the fourth cross-tie in 11.97 seconds.

But the Scottish Schools champion couldn't replicate the time and had to settle for sixth in the final.

Selkirk's Craig Bruce had also won his cross-tie in a time of 12.00, but was a yard slower in the final to cross the line in seventh.

Brodie Cowan from Jedburgh had qualified for the cross-ties, but the teenager stumbled and narrowly failed to reach the final.

In the first day of competition at Meadowmill in East Lothian, Downie also claimed the Ladies Sprint trophy just an hour after qualifying for the main sprint second-day.

Dundee’s Andrea Goodman and Brodie Cowan of Jed finished second and third, respectively.

Peebles sisters Natasha and Samantha Turnbull were fifth and sixth, respectively, with last year’s winner Rianna Sterricks from Peebles, crossing the line in seventh.

Kelso’s John Fleming and Jed’s Thomas Finkle had to settle for second and third, respectively, behind Central’s Cameron Smith in the final of the Veterans 90 metres final.

But Cameron Lindsay from Kelso did bring the 200 metres title back to the Borders after holding off the challenge from Andrea Goodman of Dundee and Greenock’s Scott Hannaway.

Craig Sowerby from Seaton was the impressive winner of the 800 metres, ahead of Ewan Dyer of Pitreavie.

In the youths’ races, Ava Lees from Tweedbank-based TLJT club triumphed in the 10-13-years 200 metres final.

Lasswade’s Eloise Scott was runner-up ahead of TLJT’s Josh Landers and Leithenburn trio Aaron Glendinning, Grace Turnbull and Sam Renton.

Lees was also runner-up in the final of the youths’ 90 metres behind Harmeny’s Callum Gladwin.

Zoe Blair from Jed finished third.

TLJT’s Evie Renwick, who finished fourth in the sprint final, had to settle for runner up in the 13-16-years 200 metres final; behind Gladwin.

Lasswade claimed first and second in the youths’ 800 metres with Alastair Scott holding off Eloise Scott.

Kelso’s Matty Fleming finished third.