Selkirk A 17

Heriot’s 2nds 5

John Smail

at Philiphaugh

BOTH teams contributed to a highly competitive Tennent’s Reserve League East 1 encounter at Philiphaugh on Saturday, with Selkirk just having the upper hand against a Heriot’s team forced to play the majority of the match a man short.

Arriving with only 15 players, the visitors suffered an additional blow when their right wing Calum Davidson had to be helped from the field with a torn hamstring just 10 minutes into the first half.

To their credit the city side continued to take the game to Selkirk at every opportunity, with player-coach Michael Goldie leading by example from the number eight position.

Early breaks by Jy Griffin and Jack Houston led to Selkirk lock Matthew Mackay being held up over the line, but shortly afterwards David Cassidy crossed for a try (his ninth of the season) to settle home supporters’ nerves.

Selkirk then lost the services of Matthew Brass with an ankle injury (being replaced by Sam Cockburn), and the home team increased their lead when skipper Liam Cassidy’s snaffled Heriot’s line-out ball to set up a try for Michael Waldron, converted by Scott Clark.

A try-saving tackle by Harry Aynsley and outstanding defensive work by Sean Nixon were the other first half highlights, with Selkirk 12-0 ahead at the interval.

Tries by Selkirk wing Lewis Martin and visiting fly-half Finlay Hutchinson were the only scores of the second half, leaving the hosts 17-5 winners after a thoroughly entertaining match.

Despite winning what was their final home game of the season, Selkirk ‘A’ slip to fourth place in the Tennent’s Reserve League East 1 table behind Stewart’s Melville 2nds, whose big win on Saturday put them above Selkirk on points difference.

However, with a final league fixture to play against Edinburgh Accies 2nds at Raeburn Place on March 21, Selkirk A’s players will have the chance to clinch a top three finish if they can win this rearranged game.

The Four Seasons Forestry ‘Selkirk Man of the Match’ award went to Harry Aynsley.

Selkirk A: M Brass, N Armstrong, J Griffin, H Aynsley, L Martin, D Cassidy, S Clark, M Waldron, M Francis, R Reilly, D Alexander, M Mackay, J Houston, S Nixon, L Cassidy. Replacements: S Cockburn, H Macdonell, C Young & L Sanders.