SCOTLAND Women will host Spain in Edinburgh in September as preparations get under way for World Rugby’s new global competition, WXV.

The hosts secured their spot in the second tier of the competition, WXV 2, which will be held in Cape Town this October, after finishing fourth in the recent Women’s Six Nations championship.

Spain will feature in WXV 3 in Dubai later this year, with the side missing out on a place in WXV 2 after a 23-0 defeat against Italy in the tournament qualifier.

READ MORE: Travel advice during high profile events this weekend

Scotland’s previous clash with Spain was during the 2021 Rugby World Cup Europe Qualifier tournament in Parma, with the Scots holding off a late comeback from the Spaniards to record a 27-22 victory.

The hosts will be looking to continue their recent spell of promising performances, with the side recording two back-to-back victories against Italy and Ireland in April.

Scotland Women head coach Bryan Easson said: “We enjoyed an encouraging conclusion to our recent TikTok Women’s Six Nations campaign and this test against Spain is the perfect opportunity to continue the positive momentum and keep building as a squad.

READ MORE: Would-be tenants tricked into paying an upfront fee warn police

“We are thoroughly excited to get under way with WXV preparations and with all the teams confirmed for the competition in South Africa, it is vital that we expose and test ourselves against different playing styles and opposition.

“To finish the tournament with a record home crowd was a truly special occasion for everyone involved and it would be brilliant to see the support back at the stadium before we fly to Cape Town.”

Match tickets for Scotland’s fixture against Spain will go on public sale online on Thursday, August 10.

The game will take place at the Hive Stadium on Saturday, September 30, with a kick-off time yet to be confirmed.

Supporters can secure their tickets for all three of Scotland’s home games this season at the Hive Stadium with the newly-launched Season Pass, including Spain, France and England.