BERWICK'S Cameron Tindle hopes to make history next month by winning the world's oldest footrace in succession.

The year-old heads a field of 88 athletes aiming to win the 147th New Year Sprint.

The 17-year-old will attempt to defend his title from just two metres in the handicaps.

Tindle, who is coached by Eyemouth's Henry Gray, won a bronze medal in September at the Commonwealth Youth Games in a time of 10.42 seconds.

And despite being the backmarker will likely go off as favourite.

The last athlete to win the coveted race two years in a row was Glasgow's Willie McFarlane in 1933 and 1934 at Powderhall.

New Year Sprint promoter Frank Hanlon told us: "We are delighted that Cameron will attempt to defend his title.

"Few will have witnessed back to back wins but they way Cameron is running just now, he has a chance."

Dylan Ali from Hawick, who won the race two years ago, runs from five metres.

Several other former winners are also entered, including Hawick's Daniel Paxton (10) and Cumbie Bowers (8.75) from Glenrothes.

Cardrona's Ryan Houten, who was runner-up last year, will attempt to go one better from nine metres.

The Charters family from Dolphinton will have three cracks at the title with eldest brother Steven running from eight metres, and both Jordan and Ryan going from 11 metres.

Selkirk father and son, Colin and Craig Bruce, run from 15 metres and 12 metres, respectively.

And the son of former Innerleithen minister, Jonathan McKenna, runs from 15 metres.

Former Scottish 100 metres and 200 metres champion Stacey Downie from West Linton leads the ladies' charge from 17.25 metres.

The draw for the 12 heats will take place at Musselburgh Racecourse on Tuesday, December 1.

And handicaps for all the supporting events, including an open 800 metres and 1600 metres as well as youths sprints and middle-distance races will be released over the coming weeks.

The heats of the 147th New Year Sprint are held on the tartan track at Meadowmill Sports Stadium in East Lothian on Wednesday, December 30.

The cross-ties and final of the 110 metres race take place on the turf at Musselburgh Racecourse on Friday, January 1.