SOUTH of Scotland rugby will burst back into life next month, but players from the country’s leading club, Melrose, will not be taking part.

The South face Caledonia in an Inter-district match at Stirling on Tuesday, November 7, without any players from The Greenyards.

With the Premiership season at a stand-still from November 4 until December 2 due to international games, Melrose had programmed the ‘break’ for resting their players.

Robert Chrystie, Melrose coach, told the Border Telegraph: “At the beginning of the season, the season’s plan is set out.

"The South game comes at a recent awkward time.

“It was the same last year. We got to that period of time and we had knocks and injuries, and it is probably the right decision not to be playing in it.

“It is the way that it fits in the calendar, and we expressed that.

"There has been no communication to me directly this season. The boys have worked really hard and we need to have a wee rest at some time, and when you get the chance, you have to take it.”

The game will go ahead with any profits going to the Doddie Weir Discretionary Trust, himself a former Melrose player who has been diagnosed with motor neurone disease.

The squad will be captained again by Gala fly half and Scottish 7s international Gregor Hunter with Hawick’s Bruce McNeil vice-captain.

The 25 players in the squad come from Hawick, Jed-Forest, Gala, Selkirk and Kelso.

The press release states that Melrose were invited to support the match but declined to do so.

The South squad is Graham Speirs (Gala), Craig Russell (Gala), Lewis Young (Jed-Forest), Robbie Shirra Gibb (Jed-Forest), Lewis Ferguson ( Hawick), Ewan Scott (Jed-Forest), Lee Armstrong (Hawick), Gregor Young (Jed-Forest), Gregor Hunter (Gala), Sean Goodfellow (Jed-Forest), Greg Cottrell (Hawick), Blair Robertson (Kelso), Luke Pettie (Selkirk), Chris Keen (Gala), Shawn Muir (Hawick), Nicky Little (Hawick), Matty Carryer (Hawick), Cameron MacKay (Jed-Forest), Gregor Law (Jed-forest), Andrew Renwick (Selkirk), Dalton Redpath (Hawick), Bruce McNeil (Hawick), Calum Marshall (Selkirk/Heriot’s), Guy Graham (Hawick), Euan Dods (Gala/Watsonians).