TEN players were inducted into the Melrose Sevens Hall of Fame on Saturday ahead of the club’s Premiership clash against Hawick.

Inevitably, Ned Haig, the founder of the seven-a-side game, topped the list ahead of Dave Sanderson (Ned Haig’s boss), Duncan Hogg, J im Hogg, Derek Brown, Scott Wight, Calum McRae, Keith Robertson, Mark Robertson and John Dalziel.

Their names now adorn a board inside the bar…and more will be added in due course.

Ian Cooper, Melrose Sevens convener, explained the background to the innovative decision.

He said: “The idea was that the sevens was brought up to date. A committee decided that the first Hall of Fame would only involve Melrose players, and we decided on the 10 who would be inducted… and the idea came from the Scottish Seven.

“Ned Haig was obviously the first start and then Dave Sanderson, the first player to win three medals at Melrose, the two Hogg brothers, Duncan and Jim, "Derek Brown, and, of course, captain Scott Wight, former coach Calum McRae, Keith and Mark Robertson and John Dalziel, the current coach.”

In the future, Mr Cooper said that he would like to see it as an Induction Dinner in Sevens Week, or whenever.

“At present, we have inducted 10 Melrose players and all are very deserving,” he added.

Scrolls were handed out at the dinner to mark the occasion.