Gala 32 Aberdeen Grammar 36

By Jack Nixon
at Netherdale

NOT for the first time this season, Gala failed to take their home advantage against an Aberdeen Grammar side who just simply would not roll over.

Although the Netherdale side scored four tries, they conceded five to the determined Northerners who were good value for their narrow 36 - 32 win.

For Gala team manager Peter Dods, it was a case of another repeat in an up and down season with arguably more downs than ups.

“This just about sums up our season. We played some good rugby, but failed to build on our advantage. It was, nevertheless, a good game of rugby with some fine flowing moves, and some great tries. We really should have built on our early 10 point lead,” said Dods.

Gala’s lead, gained in less than 10 minutes gave the home crowd hope, but their favourites flattered to deceive, falling off the pace allowing the visitors back into the game. 

Two tries before the half hour mark, turned the game, one of which was converted, giving them a 12-10 lead.

In fairness Gala hit back through the excellent Dean Keddie who kicked his second penalty to grab a narrow lead. 

The stand off had a field day kicking 12 points, though his opposite number Bryn Perrott was equally impressive, scoring a try and slotting 11 points of his own.

There was a flurry of action before the break with both sides scoring tries, but it was Gala who held sway, going in 20-18 to the good.

The second half was no less exciting, though it was the Aberdeen side who took the honours – this despite conceding an early converted try to trail 27-18.

Thereafter it was all Grammar, as they scored 18 answered points. 
A late unconverted try gave Gala side two valuable bonus points, though they can have no complaints about losing to a very good Aberdeen side.

Scorers: Gala tries – Stephen Cairns, Graham Spiers, Alan Edmond, and Jack Chalmers. Cons: Dean Keddie(3), Pens: Keddie (2). Aberdeen tries – Matthias Schosser, Matt Arnold, Robin Cessford, Alex Ratcliffe and Bryn Perrott. Cons: Perrott (4), Pens: Perrott.
Gala Team – G Spiers; J Turnbull, D Nicolson, A Redmond, S Fairburn; D Keddie, Ewan Gunter; P Stewart, J Chalmers, T Logan, J Watson, B Reavely, R Tod, R Irvine and S Cairns. Replacements – L Roden, F Hunter and L Johnston.