GALASHIELS Amateur Swimming Club held its annual Handicap Competition at the town's swimming pool recently.

It was a night of fun and fierce competition, and the eventual winners were Beth Johnston for the Girls and Robbie Czajka for the Boys. The other prize winners for the Girls were Alice Milivoyevich, Bethany Hamilton, Paige Minnikin, Amy Headspeath and Alexa Stenhouse; and for the Boys Matthew Berlansky, Anton Kobus, Owen Rippon, Andrew Watt and William Taylor. Booby prizes were awarded to the swimmers who swam the most improved times compared to their entry marks, and these went to Iris Wemyss and Christopher Wexelstein.

There was also an awards ceremony held on the same night for the Senior Freestyle Championships, which were held at the end of last year. The Boys winner of the Wm Murray Stenhouse Trophy was Matthew Berlansky, and the Girls winner of the Milivoyevich Trophy was Louise Ramage, who was unfortunately unable to attend the presentation. The Club is very grateful to Mrs Betsy Drummond, and to Mr Gig Wilson, Harriet and Alice Milivoyevich for their generous donations of these trophies, which will be awarded on an annual basis.

Mrs Drummond, now 79, was once the Club's youngest member, gaining her 25 yards certificate at the age of three!